My Learners’ Responses to Silvia Richardson’s IATEFL Plenary

Based on Silvia’s plenary, I asked my learners the following question: Would you prefer a NEST with one year of experience or a NNEST with twenty years of experience?

Here are their anonymous responses and some quotes, many thanks for their permission to use their responses:

NEST: I I I I I I I I

NNEST: I (but only if the NNEST is from the EU)

“Native English speakers are more authentic.”

“I’m looking for getting fluent and this is the fastest way to get into new language.”

“For me it depends on the level of articulation, how well it can be understood.”

“A native speaker that talks like hmhmhmhmhmhmmhmh, it is not helpful for me…also a native speaker could be a problem.”

“For a native speaker I’m sure what they are saying is a correct way.”

“There are some pieces of the language I think this cannot be learnt as a foreigner, you have to get this by the mother’s milk.”

“Normally native speaker knows more about grammar or certain phrases than a non-native speaker.”

“A Chinese English teacher with 20 years of experience may be a good trainer but the impact of the Chinese mother tongue might…ja…could have a big influence on how the  person pronounces the English word and the sound of the speech.”

Summary

I’m not surprised.  They distinguish between different types of NNEST, saying they would prefer one that came from a country closer to Germany (they are all German). Obviously, this is just a little snapshot, but I’ll try to add more results later. Show this to your students and see if they agree.

Click here to see the session and to download the slides.

http://iatefl.britishcouncil.org/2016/session/plenary-silvana-richardson

 

2 thoughts on “My Learners’ Responses to Silvia Richardson’s IATEFL Plenary

  1. Thanks for doing this Jennie. I’d be interested to know a bit more about their past experiences of language learning. Have they had any particularly good or bad experiences with NESTs or NNESTs (before you came along obviously!)?
    This one also seems a little self-defeating, since how do they expect to learn from them if this is the case! “There are some pieces of the language I think this cannot be learnt as a foreigner, you have to get this by the mother’s milk.”
    Sandy

  2. They are all German and have had the typical NNEST high school English experience followed by over ten years of experience with only NESTs. I’ll give it a few weeks and do another little survey.

Leave a Reply

